News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Part Sub and Photocoupler Question

Started by hagcel, February 19, 2013, 10:23:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hagcel

Hi,

Can I sub a 3300pf 50v ceramic Cap in place of a 3n3 film cap for C3 or C9 in Collosallis? When I placed my order I only ordered 1 3n3 cap  >:( >:( >:(

Related question: Why is a 3300pf Ceramic Cap smaller than say a 680 pf 50v Ceramic cap?

How do I install photocouplers? I have never used them before. This is for a nautilus build. I ordered from small bear. I assume the dot lead goes in the square hole?

Thanks!!

jkokura

1. 3300pF = 3n3. No sub, that's the proper value.
2. I don't know why the size difference. Often size is related to a combination of value and voltage rating. It's possible the 680pF is rated higher, but there are so many variances between maufacturers...
3. The Vactrol is essentially two parts - LED and LDR. The LED side is the dot side. The long leg needs to go into the + side of the LED part of the photocoupler. That's likely the Dot side and the square pad. The other side, the LDR, is non-specific, so you don't need to worry about that side at all. As long as the LED is oriented correctly, you're good to go.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

hagcel

Thanks,

Yeah I guess I just wasn't sure if ceramic can sub for film in all occasions. I take it that it can?

I guess I've never seen it written anywhere that this should be true but I think of pf as ceramic caps and nf as film caps :)

Thanks Jacob!

RobA

As far as working as a capacitor goes, then they are interchangeable. But, they do sound different from each other. In general, film caps have better audio characteristics than ceramic. But, this isn't always true and depends on the model of each cap. If you have good C0G ceramic caps, the results will be good. If they are cheap ceramic disk caps, you may not like what they do.