News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Is There A "Best" Grounding Method?

Started by frankie5fingers, May 19, 2012, 03:17:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

frankie5fingers

Ground loop(s), using the enclosure (only), local ground plane, separate DC and audio grounds... Lots of discussions.  As a relative newb, I've used the tip and sleeve connections and star grounding.  Is there something that definitively reduces hum/noise more effectively than another?  Of course, that brings up another question...is there any value to shielding the enclosure or is that just belt and suspenders?  Thanks.

alanp

Grounding is a massive issue in some amplifiers(check out the Larry Grounding thread on Metroamp), but I can't say I've seen any debate on the topic in pedal forums.
"A man is not dead while his name is still spoken."
- Terry Pratchett
My OSHpark shared projects
My website

frankie5fingers

I haven't either; but clearly there are a couple of ways to accomplish it.  I'm curious whether one method produces any less noise, or is more "reliable" or any advantage for that matter, over another.  Then of course, there's the idea of shielding and whether it has any advantages.  There isn't a lot of noise anyway, especially with the ability to tweak components to reduce certain types, but I was reading something from Lyle Caldwell regarding his method of grounding and it just got me thinking.  I'm not looking for a debate, just curious.  Thanks

stecykmi

I would say that it's not so important for most effects. in general, it's more of an issue for stuff with an on-board power supply.

PerS

Hi

This is an interesting question that I like to learn more about. So I give my comment just to keep discussion going... free to comment and criticize...