News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Archibald Capacitor Question

Started by joelorigo, January 30, 2023, 07:29:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joelorigo

Hello! My first post.
I recently bought the Archibald PCB and I'm about to start building it. I see that the build document lists 1 470pf electrolytic cap as 25v and 2 that are 16v. These are C16, C24 & C25.  I don't see any indication in the document or on the PCB as to which one needs to be the 25v.

mauman

Welcome!  That info is on the schematic: C16 is the 25V, C24/C25 are the 16V. 

As long as they will tolerate the 12V bus voltage, anything would be fine - they could all be 16V, or 25V, or 50V.  Higher voltage caps may last a few years longer, or be slightly better in other ways, but they're also usually larger and cost a bit more. 

joelorigo

Ohh d'oh! Of course. Well there's my first post, a complete noob question.

Thank you for answering!

joelorigo

And with the 1mH inductor, there is no polarity? First time I've used this part.

madbean

Quote from: joelorigo on January 30, 2023, 09:19:16 PM
And with the 1mH inductor, there is no polarity? First time I've used this part.

No inductors do not have polarity.

joelorigo

joelorigo

Not about capacitors, but I just realized that the power supply I was going to use with the Archibald is center +. Eek! good thing I thought of this in advance. What is a good 12v power supply out there?

EDIT: I'm finding many of the 12v ones are center positive. I did see this:
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/1SpotCYR--truetone-1-spot-reverse-polarity-converter

Is that something I can use with my 12v 750mA center positive supply to power the Archibald. Actually, I think I actually have one from a Godlyke Power All that I bought a long time ago.

jimilee

Seems like the ma needed are in the build doc, you may need more than that, I can't remember right off, or it may be the other tube drive.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk