News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

PedalPCB Trembling Loon

Started by peccary, February 21, 2022, 04:58:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peccary

Hey folks,

I finished up this Trembling Loon build over the weekend and am pretty happy with how it came out. A member of the PedalPCB forum sent me a vactrol and I thought that a trem pedal would be a good use for it since I didn't have one.

When I first plugged this in it sounded really bright and chimey, but that was in the garage through a practice bass amp (Acoustic B-10. I'm new to guitar but have been playing bass for a couple of decades). When I had a chance to spend a lot more time with it yesterday and play it through my mixer it lost the brightness, which I was happy about.

The thing has a *lot* of gain on tap as well. It's at unity almost instantly from zero. I was playing around with the order of this pedal and a few others and when I put this in front of the Aion Meridian (bass version) cranking the Trembling Loon's gain in to the Meridian gave me some pretty interesting distortion. The Meridian was one of the most underwhelming pedals I built until I started using it with other pedals - it feels like an extension of anything you plug in before it and I kind of love it.

Anyways, I don't have any experience with trem pedals other than this one but I think it sounds good, especially with a little bit of delay and grit added to it.

Edit: the IMG tags weren't working so here's the links:

https://imgur.com/2ebtjiY

https://imgur.com/EXbac4V

madbean

Bio77

Great build! Love the graphics, delicious  8)

peccary

Quote from: Bio77 on February 21, 2022, 05:51:55 PM
Great build! Love the graphics, delicious  8)

Thanks!

I thought the Delirium Tremens elephant was a good choice after not being able to find any bird graphics that I liked   ;D

Thewintersoldier