News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

First three builds!

Started by TheDude, November 26, 2017, 02:53:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheDude

Hey guys

Recently completed my first three builds just in time for my "building season" to wind down. I'm a coach so my year is pretty well scheduled out ahead of time - bonus to anyone who can guess what sport. Anyway, after struggling with a Fretwire.com build last fall it was a huge relief to have these work out. I've populated and tested 5 in total, just waiting to get my enclosure back from my friend who painted one, and my Classic Trem isn't tremming, so I'm guessing my last week will be spent troubleshooting that guy.

First in is a GPCB Mastodon. I had this guy assembled and rockin, but figured I'd try to clean up the wiring... BAD idea as I think I fried a few of the eyelets a bit as the pedal only works well at certain levels of each pot. Still an awesome tone, particularly for a desert/stoner rock sound. Good news is I have another PCB on hand so I'll have another shot at it next year.

Top:

Hand painted this, as are all in my 2017 series. Was looking to go for a small-run boutique look this year.

And gut shot:

Next up was a JMK 5-Knob Fuzz. I started off with a pair of 2N3906s In Q1 & Q3 based on someone else's post here, and boy I was not ready for that level of oscillation. Tested out a few different transistors in Q3 and settled on a 2N4403, getting me a great vintage fuzz sound along the lines of Inna-Gada-Da-Vida or Godzilla. Again hand painted.

Top:

Gut Shot:

And lastly, a JMK Engineer's Thumb. I love how seamlessly this seemed to enter my signal chain. Will be close to an always on pedal for me I'm feeling.

Top:

Gut Shot:

Hoping to have my Little Angel chorus boxed up in a day or two, and get the Classic Trem going. Thanks for looking guys!
The dude abides

jubal81

That's some impressive stuff. Especially love the look of that fuzz!