News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

NGD!

Started by Timko, September 14, 2017, 05:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timko

The nights in Kansas City are starting to get cooler; when I let me dog out before I go to bed there's a little nip in the air.  For me, that means the days are getting shorter, and my attention turns from outside to inside (and back to pedal building in the colder months).  I have a couple of cool projects in flight, but none of them are as cool as this.

Since I started playing guitar after a 10 year break, the only new guitar that has floored me has been the Gibson Johnny A Custom.  It's a thinline hollow body guitar milled out of a solid block of mahogany with a solid maple top. The finish is just otherworldy: gold hardware, tons of binding, a Bigsby, custom inlays.  The one thing stopping me from purchasing one?  The price.  $6,200 from Gibson (about 5k street). 

I had already purchased a new guitar this year (a Johnny Marr Jaguar which is fantastic), and didn't have any intention of buying anything new.  That is, until Epiphone announced they were releasing a Johnny A.  The Epi is nearly identical in specs (mahogany milled body, gold hardware, binding, inlays, Bigsby, Gibson classic '57 pickups, 25.5 scale length, ebony fretboard, chunky '59 neck), with the only difference being a laminate top.  Oh, and the price tag came in under a grand.  So while I wasn't guitar hunting, I knew the moment I found out about them I was going to hunt one down.

The CITES laws had these things held up in customs forever.  I placed my pre-order in May.  Manufacturing finished in the middle of June.  I got it last week.  But man, what a fun guitar.  It's both loud in terms of sound and looks, but it's an awesome player.  One of these days I would love to be in a position to get a real Johnny A, but this was still a fantastic guitar to add to my collection.