News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Carte Blanche - Multi Fuzz with upper octave

Started by Coda-effects, October 17, 2016, 01:49:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Coda-effects

Hi guys!

Here is my latest big project. It is a 3 Fuzz-in-one-box pedal, with a switchable upper octave. This is my first prototype, I will make another one with some changes, but I wanted to share this one with you.

There are 3 fuzz circuits inside this pedal :
- A silicon Fuzz Face. I wanted to make it germanium, but the NPN germanium that I have found (russian MP38A) are waaaay to big for the available space in this tight, tight (and messy) build. So silicon it is! Cleans well with guitar volume, nice on saturated amp, cool fuzz!
- A Muff Fuzz. I used the circuit with a feedback loop. However, it sound really similar to the Fuzz Face, so I plan on replacing it by a OP amp version of the muff fuzz.
- Companion Fuzz / Sin Ei FY2 I have never built it before, it is a nice spitty, gritty velcro fuzz! I guess that it can sound very cool on bass, on guitar, it gives a nice "brass" feeling, a bit like the old Maestro fuzz. Low output volume though

A rotary switch allows you to choose between no fuzz, Fuzz Face, Muff Fuzz or Companion Fuzz;

Then, there is a Klon buffer to diminish the impedance, and a low pass filter to remove some trebles.
Finally, a LPB1 restore a full volume and can also boost the signal.

Before the fuzz, tone and volume section, there is a Green Ringer that is switchable (on-off), to add a nice upper octave. Depending on the selected fuzz, it can make a classic jimi sound, or a crazy noisy stuff (with the companion fuzz  :D )
I replaced the 10k resistor of the emitter of the first transistor to adjust the octave (there is kind of a sweet spot, but other settings with less octave are interesting too).
I am not sure that it is better that the Green Ringer is before fuzz though... I heard that it sounded quite good after the fuzz....