News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Modding a charge pump from 18V to 12V output

Started by MarkL, May 09, 2016, 07:31:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkL

Can anybody suggest a way to modify this little daughterboard so that it puts out 12V instead of the 18V?  I suspect it may just be a latter of choosing different diodes (and possibly doubling them up), but I'm a novice to futzing with this sort of thing, and don't want to make a really bad mistake!

I'm having trouble uploading a picture, so here's the URL link to the vero layout I'm hoping to modify:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-SHcE0P5tEao/U9rvGU589eI/AAAAAAAAIX0/hO5n62dQ2cs/s1600/Toneczar+Openhaur+charge+pump.png

Of course, if anybody has an existing vero layout they can share for a 9V to 12V charge pump, that would be great too.

Thanks in advance.

Scruffie

Adding a 78L12 regulator from the 18V output is probably the simplest most stable option.
Works at Lectric-FX

MarkL

So, take the18V lead, feed it to the input pin on the regulator, take a wire from the output pin and feed it to the circuit, and then ground the GND pin?  Dumb question (the pinouts seem fairly intuitive) but I'd rather sound dumb than make a dumb error.

Note -- I'm doing this to try to run a Valvecaster circuit at 12V.  It just occurred to me...do I even need the 18V charge pump, or can I feed the 78L12 regulator the regular 9V source...that is, if I power the 78L12 from a 9V source, will it still put out 12V to feed the circuit?

dbp512

The 78L** series has an internal voltage drop of about 2V, meaning you need to supply a 12V regulator with at least 14V to work properly. I don't know if theres any easier way to power the circuit or if a charge pump and regulator is still the best.
"you truly are a transistor tickler, what with the application of germanium ointment to sensitive fuzzy areas. :)" - playpunk

MarkL

Okay...so if I understand correctly, then something like this would work: