News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Naughty Fish

Started by Mike, January 28, 2015, 05:18:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike

Hey guys! This is my first post here. It's nice to see some familiar people. :)

This is my first build with a Madbean board. Actually, it is my first build with a commercial PCB-- I usually like to do my own layouts and etch my own boards.

I wanted this to be a special build, so I used premium parts, like fancy-pants sausage resistors (mojo parts of the future!) and a 1590TRPB, which gave me a bit of extra space. I used KK-style connectors for the volume pot and the LEDs, which made it easy to stuff in the box. The build was easy enough, without much difficulty.  I imagine it would be a bit more difficult in a 1590B, but probably not much.

There is a story behind this pedal. It is a tribute to my cat, who we had put down in December after 16 years. My brother originally adopted him in 1998, and named him Jerry Garcia. Our vet sent us a card, and inside the card was an inking of Jerry's paw. I decided to commemorate him by building a special pedal with an etch of his pawprint. The cat's name was Jerry Garcia, so I didn't have much of a choice but to build a Mu-tron III, something I have wanted to do since I first started building pedals back in 2009.

I present to you, the MEOW-TRON:

I have only played it for a little while, but it sounds great. I am most impressed by the nice, even release. My previous experiments with LDR-based filters always had a glitchy release. This one is nice and smooth.

Mike
My pedal site: Just One More Build

midwayfair

chordball

That's a cool story and a great build. Well done!

thesameage

Mike

Thanks. :)

I think I am going to polish the enclosure, and then flood the etch with some paint to add more contrast. Gonna keep it black and white, to match my kitty (Jerry is the bottom one).

My wife (who plays bass) is really happy that I did it.

Luke51411