News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Mods for The CryBaby GCB95

Started by Gledison, March 08, 2014, 01:26:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hey Guys,
ive just got a crybaby classic and remember to read some stuff about some mods that we can do with it. i also saw a video where someone showed the sound with the input buffer versus the true bypass, what one can hear clearly the difference (mainly trebble range).
I know some of you guys probably already did some mods (led as well) and would be great if you could point me some directions.
Actually im doing this more for learning purposes (open the damn thing and full around with it) .
Thanks in advance
Gledison
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

jimilee

What I did was pull out the guts and put a wiener wah in one and a mowah in another one. That helped. The other thing is to change the inductor
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

pryde

Most popular simple mods are to remove the buffer, convert to true bypass, and add an LED. Easy to do but make sure you use a good quality 3PDT switch as the cheapy blue ones never seam to last in there

http://stinkfoot.se/archives/546

Leevibe

Definitely read RG Keen's technology of the wah pedal.

http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/wahpedl/wahped.htm

Replacing the resistor that's in parallel with the inductor with a pot gives you a useful Q control.

You can change the sweep (more towards treble or more towards bass) by switching the cap that's connected to the emitter of Q2. I usually start by skipping a tooth or two on the gear rack first though. There should be room at both ends of the pot rotation. Just make sure not to take it all the way to the end of its travel or you can snap the pot shaft.