News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

First DIY project. Probably some really silly questions to follow:

Started by davidnlsw, January 18, 2014, 03:15:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidnlsw

Hello all,

I've been doing research over the last week or two on putting together a "Yellow Shark" from the Haberdasher PCB. I've built a few BYOC kits but never done anything more complex or involved than that.

I've been searching around trying to find all the pieces I will need and here comes the first stupid question:

I'm looking at the parts list here and I can't for the life of me figure out what C1 is. I'm a noob. What does a "47n" cap mean?

I'm looking to order the majority of pieces from small bear so if someone could lend a helping hand, I'd greatly appreciate it.

GermanCdn

Welcome.

47n is 47 nanofarads, or 47nF in most places you will be buying from.  Likewise, 100p is 100 picofarads (100pF), and 2u2 is 2.2 microfarads (2.2uF).  One microfarad = 1000 nanofarads = 1 000 000 picofarads.  Sometimes you will see a variant in the listing, as in 47 nF listed as 0.047 uF; it's the same thing, just described a different way.

While we're at it, resistors are like this

100R - 100 ohms
100k - 100 kilo-ohms
1M - 1 Megaohm

1 M = 1000 k = 1000000 R.

Any other questions, ask away, and enjoy your build.
The only known cure in the world for GAS is death.  That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

GermanCdn

And while I'm at it

picofarad caps are generally ceramic disc

nanofarad caps are generally polyfilm (box) from 1nf to 1 uF

microfarad caps are generally electrolytic and are polarized.
The only known cure in the world for GAS is death.  That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

das234