News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

PCB pad falling of :(

Started by Gledison, November 30, 2013, 04:52:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hey guys.
Was rewiring a pot and the pcb paf and a little of the rail came out! Picture attached. I was doing regular heating... Have u seen this before? Causes?
Thanks
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

davent

My guess is the heat of the iron probably resulted in the copper/fiberglass adhesive failure under the pad. Usually happens during reworking as it takes far longer heating with the iron, to remove the solder and get the lead out of the hole then a quick in & out when soldering the lead in initially. Had it happen on commercial boards as well as diy's.

dave
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown

If my photos are missing again... they're hosted by photobucket... and as of 06/2017 being held hostage... to be continued?

Gledison

Quote from: davent on November 30, 2013, 05:08:10 PM
My guess is the heat of the iron probably resulted in the copper/fiberglass adhesive failure under the pad. Usually happens during reworking as it takes far longer heating with the iron, to remove the solder and get the lead out of the hole then a quick in & out when soldering the lead in initially. Had it happen on commercial boards as well as diy's.

dave
Damn it! Was thinking about gluing with superglue, but than i will never trust this board, soo back to the etching process!
Thanks mate

icecycle66

no need to trash the whole thing.  Just  solder the part direct to the trace.

rullywowr

Quote from: icecycle66 on November 30, 2013, 05:20:38 PM

Exactly. Looks like you can strip the wire longer and tie to the pad directly above. 

DIY Guitar Pedal PCB projects!

GermanCdn