News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Simple MN3007 Chorus Circuit?

Started by ziggy, November 04, 2013, 02:07:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ziggy

Hey folks,

I am brand new to building pedals, brand new to this forum ... but do have a little electronics background.

Was just searching around the net as I wanted to build a real small chorus pedal. I have a relatively cheap chorus pedal at the moment and only use the "depth" side of it which gives a fuller sound to my Ovation ... so was wanting to build a simpler and much smaller unit really with just a single control depth function running off a 9-volt battery.

Whilst searching, I saw lots of posts about Boss Chorus pedals to the effect "get the MN3007 chip, its the best and you won't be able to get them soon as they are discontinued and there are lots of fakes around ... yada yada yada"  ... so without much further research (i.e. just a cursory check that the Boss pedals have a depth function) ... and my usual impulsive behaviour ... I just (panic) bought the MN3007 & MN3101 pair from Doctor Tweek ... then thought "hmmm ... can I actually build what I want with this"?

I then found one circuit with that chip and it looked very complex ... but I think it was using all of the features of the chip with a bit more added on!

Was hoping even to build it first maybe on a breadboard, test it was all ok and then commit it to a PCB and enclosure.

I have the panasonic datasheet that has a sample application with about 4 op-amps to produce what they call an "echo effect generation circuit" ... but not sure whether that is really what I am after.

Can anyone give me any pointers? Can I build a fairly simple "depth" chorus effect with the MN3007? Are there any simple circuits out there explaining how to do this?

Any help appreciated

Thanx

Ziggy

stecykmi