News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Jury Duty

Started by TNblueshawk, June 06, 2013, 03:23:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TNblueshawk

Well, I just served 2 days worth Mon and Tue for the first time in my life. I'm 49. Apparently they use drivers license registrations to pull from and since I've been a registred driver since before I was 18 almost in one county the whole time you got me as to why I was never called.

Fellers, there is a whole 'nother world out there that I want no part of. Criminal armed robbery between 2 rival gang members. I didn't really fancy being in that juror's box to be honest. What I listened to for those 2 days was fascinating and a depressing reality. I didn't 'learn' anything. What I thought I knew was only re-enforced sadly.

I hope it is another 49 years before I have to sit through that again.

Oh, I did 'learn' one thing. Apparently the GD's or the Ganster Disciples is not a gang at all like the Crips who are. They are and I quote "...an organization similar to the Boys and Girls Club...designed to help the community and the children of the community..."  Other than this I didn't actually learn anything.

Any other stories worth sharing? Curious how some other coutries work this.
John

murdog47

Quote from: TNblueshawk on June 06, 2013, 03:23:50 PM
"...an organization similar to the Boys and Girls Club...designed to help the community and the children of the community..."

Let me guess, this came out of the defense attorney's mouth. So sad, sometimes I wonder who is worse the criminals or the attorneys.

TNblueshawk

Quote from: murdog47 on June 06, 2013, 03:35:42 PM
"...an organization similar to the Boys and Girls Club...designed to help the community and the children of the community..."

Let me guess, this came out of the defense attorney's mouth. So sad, sometimes I wonder who is worse the criminals or the attorneys.