News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Shrunken Blue Warbler (not for the faint of heart)

Started by midwayfair, December 07, 2012, 03:33:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

midwayfair

Oh man. Not an easy build. :( I was home sick today with a really horrible sore throat, so I got to paint this a little early, but there was a lot of trouble shooting.

My drilling on the box to accommodate the DPDT put the knobs really close together, and I'm still learning exactly where to drill the tiny DC jacks for side mounting (every build I've done with them like that so far has had an issue of some sort -- usually boiling down to me forgetting it has a nut inside that is bigger than the hole). I found a serious error in my mini layout that I had to correct pretty early on, then I forgot an on-board ground connection that killed everything south of the audio path, then when I fixed that I made a solder bridge on the 9V at the IC that took me a bit to find, then there's the crappy switch soldering ... the wiring's a little neater than it looks (there are, after all, 5 wires coming off the board and a sixth attached to the LED). Finally, after everything was done and I had actually started clear coating, I noticed that the in jack was a little loose. I poked at it and suddenly it was VERY loose. Removed the nut and ... the threads were stripped. Which meant replacing a jack after the entire thing was boxed up. (Luckily it was the in jack and the board was small enough not to be in the way. The out jack would have been much harder to get to.)