Main Menu

Smoothie build question

Started by subcalvert@gmail.com, January 11, 2014, 07:28:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

subcalvert@gmail.com

(1) Project Name
Smoothie

(2) General description of the problem
Completed assembly of the board. I am testing it, but I do not get any sound through the board using an unamplified signal. I made an audio probe to see why I wasn't getting sound. I found that I was able to get thin sound through the board from my computer's audio signal, but I don't get any sound coming through using an unamplified signal like a guitar.

This is my first build, so I wonder if maybe I am missing something simple.

(3) Steps that you have taken to try to resolve the issue
I have checked the components with the build instructions, and I have gone over each connection as well. I have checked all of my cables, and plugged the guitar straight into the amp to determine that it isn't a bad cable or connection.

(4) List any substitutions you used for parts/values
none.

Here are pics of top and solder side
http://imgur.com/kmtCEDH,xXuNFTi#1
http://imgur.com/kmtCEDH

Thanks

jimilee

Have you taken any voltage readings and can you post pictures of both sides of the board, clear and well lit?
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

jubal81

I don't see anything that stands out as an obvious problem. Electrolytic and tantalum capacitors are polarized, so it's possible they are backwards. Can you give us the voltages on your opamp pins?
"If you put all the knobs on your amplifier on 10 you can get a much higher reaction-to-effort ratio with an electric guitar than you can with an acoustic."
- David Fair

warriorpoet

Your electrolytic caps are reversed. The stripe is the - side, and you have them soldered to the + pad.

edit: My apologies, I was trying to troubleshoot pre-coffee.  Post-coffee the electros look fine.
Mzo.FX, Owner

RobA