News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Aristocrat

Started by rlopes, January 30, 2012, 12:26:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rlopes

Hello.
I've just finished my first 2 projects: Mudbunny with Violet and Civil War specs and i cant't wait to start the next one which will be the Aristocrat. I would like to know if i can substitute the internal DIP switches with external DPDT switches (as in the King of Klones instructions) so i could switch between clean/overdrive/distortion without having to open the enclosure all the time.
Can i do it with both channels?
Best regards to all.

madbean

You sure can! Just make sure you use an On/On/On DPDT.

rlopes

Hello Brian. Thank's for your fast reply.
Are you 100% sure that is a DPDT (On-On-On) swith? I'm asking this because i'm still a real noob with electronics and the King Of Klones (single chanel version of the Arisocrat) instructions ask for a DPDT (On-Off-On) switch to do that mod (quoting the KoK instructions "You can use a DPDT On/Off/On in place of the internal dip switch. When wired as illustrated in the above diagram, you will get the clipping on the
two outside positions of the toggle switch, and a clean boost when the toggle is in the center position."
Please tell me what switch do i have to order.
Best regards
Ricardo

jubal81

I'm working on boxing up my KoK and I used the on-off-on and wiring diagram for it and it works great.
"If you put all the knobs on your amplifier on 10 you can get a much higher reaction-to-effort ratio with an electric guitar than you can with an acoustic."
- David Fair

rlopes

So, what should i order to make this mod? A DPDT (On-Off-On) or a DPDT (On-On-On) toggle switch?

rlopes

Can anyone help me with this please?

plesur

The DIP on the board has four positions; off-off, on-off, off-on, on-on.

You can use an on-on-on or an on-off-on DPDT switch but with both of those you can only get three positions.