News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Switching Question

Started by jstogsdill23, August 26, 2011, 06:25:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jstogsdill23

Hey, right off the bat this is a nOOb question so fo'give if I come across as idiotic. Second, I'm noodling here before I start into a build next month, trying to get my head around the pedal and how I'm going to use it so this is academic at the moment and boots are not on the ground yet. I'm a bassist and frankly not at all a pedal guy so this world is all kinda new to me.

On the Glitterati build (BB Preamp) I love the way the BB overdrives, but it would be nice if there was a bit more clean to pull from a la RC Booster (Quasar). On the Glitterati, if I wanted to mod in a switch to pull the clipping diodes in and out, is that possible? Aaaaaannnnd...  how would one go about doing such a thing? The ultimate question would be: without the diodes in the path would it retain the same tonal character as before, just without the dirt? Of course it is obvious that I'm not entirely clear as to the role of each piece within the build so this will help me understand the components of the build and how they work together to create the whole. Teach a man to fish and all that.

I saw this: http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=64578.msg510599#msg510599

But not sure if this scheme would work with bypassing three diodes with one switch if ultimately that is what I would have to do.

Here is the Glit pdf: http://www.madbeanpedals.com/projects/Glitterrattii/docs/Glitterrattii.pdf

Thanks for any help. Really fascinating stuff here at MadBean and I appreciate the knowledge running around this board.

mgwhit