News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Woodstork Bias Issues

Started by Caesar3693, April 05, 2017, 02:16:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Caesar3693

Hey Everyone, 'First time long time' here. I have built about 15 pedals but consider myself a complete noob. Most of my issues have been found on previous forums, but I was unable to locate anything for this.

Project: Woodstork - No mods
Problem: Pedal gets a fuzz effect with Cont at 10. The attack and clarity are lost once you start turning back the Cont. Volume and Fuzz appear to work normally. The Bias has a subtle effect, though I am not sure what I am listening for on this pot. While attempting to bias I found that T1 turned all the way down only gets me to -3.6v. I am unable to get any lower (to -4.5v) with the BOM resistors.
Troubleshooting: I have taken the obvious measures of confirming res\cap\etc values. I have reflowed all solder points that are accessible. Here's where things do not seem to add up for me. The schematic for the transistors I bought have the R6 stock value of 8.2K compared to the BOM's 1K. But then these specific transistors were biased to 47K on R6. I feel like that is a big difference from the BOM's 1K. I socketed R6 to test (I'm a noob and trying to learn how schematics work). Surprising to me, I was only able to get -4.5 by going down to 100R on R6. Guitar testing produced subtle tone changes from the 1K, but the Cont issue remained.
Substitutions: I am aware that I probably should have bought the size transistors Brian advised. This was only the second time I've bought them and I purchased the wrong size mistakenly. Again, I am a noob, but I'd like to make these transistors work. I believe they should regardless of the size. No other subs were made to my knowledge. Pics in link for community confirmation:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B-_WdWusHfPgTFhQdklkUU4zeWc?usp=sharing