News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Laser Etching PCBs

Started by sturgeo, November 01, 2016, 02:28:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sturgeo

I want to have a go at etching a few PCBs, I've never done it before & me being me, probably want to make it more difficult for myself using the equipment I have.

If I were to spray paint a sheet of FR4 and laser engrave the etch artwork (I'll need to invert this so it removes the correct material) that should work right? I might need to try a few different types of paint to see what works best, and then obviously proceed with the normal etching method.

Has anyone with a laser attempted this?

komigenie

I did, and come out awesome, now - my advice is to use High Temperature grill paint or paint will turn to some kind of messy sticky layer ....

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Rust-Oleum-Specialty-12-oz-Bar-B-Que-Black-Satin-High-Heat-Spray-Paint-7778830/202315061

culturejam

Wow. I would have never thought of that.
Partner and Product Developer at Function f(x).
My Personal Site with Effects Projects

selfdestroyer

Thats some great detail on that etch komigenie.

Cody

sturgeo

Ooo impressive, glad I'm not barking up the wrong tree for once :)

Time to buy some chemicals and tell the mrs i'm getting my Heisenberg on in the garage!

m-Kresol

before you buy anything wrong, I have to say that FeCl3 is working very well for pcbs (and enclosures). Stay away from any mixtures of hydrochloric (muriatic) acid with hydrogen peroxide or even worse sulfuric acid with peroxide. I've seen both around here and both are (especially the last one is ridiculously oxidizing and corrosive) quite dangerous. More dangerous than necessary for pcb etching at least.

now I can sleep with good consciousness.
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs and tutorials

sturgeo