News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Capacitor question, in general.

Started by BraindeadAudio, July 29, 2011, 06:55:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BraindeadAudio

I am new to building/creating pedals and I recently purchased a handful of boards from the site, and while Resistors are a piece of cake to source I am having a mild problem with the Caps, as certain codes on the board layouts are confusing me, Namely these.

the 3N on the Wolfshirt, is that a Film or a Box Cap?
Same with the 50N. I have seen silver mica caps with this value as well as a few others?

On the Chunk Chunk pedal I ran into the same problem.

I know this is probably a total noob question, Its just confusing me a bit and once I learn how and what they are Ill remember it.

I have been trying to compare and deciper the codes from what I am reading here with no luck. http://www.wjoe.com/capacitorinfo2.htm

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Also, where does everyone source their pots from?

irmcdermott

Welcome to the forum!

As a "general" rule in Brian's layouts, values of p = ceramic, values of n = film (which box caps are film caps), values of uF = electrolytic. This isn't always the case, i.e. sometimes you will see a 1uF box cap in a layout. Best to look at the layout and see what the part looks like on that. You for sure can try other caps if you want (silver mica, etc.), but usually thats how he does his layouts.

The 3n and 50n can be box, or even "greenies". The Grapevine uses them as well, here is a link to Mouser for the 3n http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Xicon/140-PF2A302F/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvOcEq4GH1AAp6xkCMmLRF5LNM8XCmxT60%3d

Looks like the 50n's that are linked in that build doc are obsolete, but these should work http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Xicon/140-PF2A503F/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvOcEq4GH1AAuFxM8DKxCsxRPsZDdlUCSY%3d