Main Menu

Wiring issues

Started by abelovesfun, May 27, 2014, 01:24:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

abelovesfun

project: pork barrel chorus
Problem : only bypass works no sound when engaged
Steps: Worked before I boxed it and wired the switch

Well this is embarrassing. Normally I build modular analog synth modules, and if have a high success rate. I first built this project into a modular panel, but decided to move it to a stomp box, since I need to run synth signals through a remap box anyway.

The circuit worked great in the rack, but after buying some small bear pcb switches and wiring it up, I now only get signal when bypassed, no sound when the effect is engaged. Led doesn't light either. I'm new to stomp ox switches, and I assume the issue is there.

Pics attached. Any advice? Do these switches have orientation?

jimilee

Does the LED work? And is there a ground wire going from the dc input to the input jack?
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

abelovesfun

Update: unsoldered the switch and turned it 90 degrees, so the horizontal lugs of the switch are in line with the length of the pcb. Still the same issue though, bypass works, but no sound when engaged. ???

Dc jack and inputs are star grounded.

Led isn't working now, it worked when it was a module in a rack.

lincolnic

Quote from: abelovesfun on May 27, 2014, 02:33:20 AM
Update: unsoldered the switch and turned it 90 degrees, so the horizontal lugs of the switch are in line with the length of the pcb. Still the same issue though, bypass works, but no sound when engaged. ???

Dc jack and inputs are star grounded.

Led isn't working now, it worked when it was a module in a rack.

Not sure how your switch is oriented now, but - you should wire it with the lugs facing horizontally. By which I mean you want it like this:

- - -
- - -
- - -

Instead of this:

| | |
| | |
| | |

abelovesfun