News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Positive Ground pedal wiring?

Started by vacourtoy, February 09, 2014, 08:15:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vacourtoy

Hey all,

I'm building a Bumblebee, and as I'm not an electrician/engineer, some of the finer points of circuitry sometimes escape me. I've built a few pedals successfully, but they've all been in a paint by numbers fashion, with the standard negative ground, which I can find plenty of information on.

However, this is the first time I've done a positive ground effect, and I'm not sure how to wire up the pedal/power supply portion. The Bumblebee project sheet doesn't have a wiring diagram for this portion, and I can't find another easy one online somewhere. Am I supposed to just wire it in the same fashion as the standard pedal wiring, provided on the madbean site, http://www.madbeanpedals.com/tutorials/downloads/StandardWiring_MBP.pdf, and just be sure to use a positive ground supply, or a 9v battery? Or is there something different I'm supposed to do that's escaping me?

oldhousescott

You'll need to use a battery or separate power supply. Alternately, you could add one of madbean's Road Rage boards to generate -9vdc from a standard 9vdc power supply that may be also supplying other pedals.

vacourtoy

Quote from: oldhousescott on February 09, 2014, 08:46:31 PM
You'll need to use a battery or separate power supply. Alternately, you could add one of madbean's Road Rage boards to generate -9vdc from a standard 9vdc power supply that may be also supplying other pedals.

Thanks for replying! I'm still not clear on how I'm supposed to wire it up as a -9vdc? Is it the same as a +9vdc?

RobA