News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Smoothie Voltages Bad

Started by mrsmith, January 19, 2014, 05:02:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrsmith

Hi, I'm building a Smoothie, and I'm not get any sound out of the effect when it is on. I am getting a bypass signal. I used 2N5952s (I ordered a quad set from Guitar PCB) and reversed them 180 from the silk screen as instructed. I also had a local store order me a zener diode, but they got the wrong one. They gave me a 100v 1W zener. The guy at the store told me it shouldn't matter, because I only needed to meet or exceed the values.

Well, now I'm getting some pretty high voltages for my ICs and transistors. I won't list all the voltages, but they're around 9v for most of the pin outs (0 where 0 should be), when I'm pretty sure they should be closer to 3-5.

I've reflowed all my joints, triple-checked component values, and feel foolish (total noob). I wanted to believe this guy so I could get this project running, and now I've spent several hours trouble-shooting this build. Could it just be this diode?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

DutchMF

Dude, the guy that sold you that Zener has got to do his homework a bit better! The voltage on a Zener indicates the threshold, anything above that is going to be let through, in the case of the smoothie to ground. The specified 4.7V Zener makes sure that Vb is at the correct voltage. The 100V Zener they sold you doesn't do anything until the voltage reaches 100V, not gonna happen in your pedal, so your Vb is way off. As you can read in the docs, you can substitute it with a 10k resistor for about the same results. I did the same on my Smoothie, works great! Hope you can get it to work, good luck!

Paul
"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

mrsmith

Thanks, man, that really helps! I guess I missed the 10k sub note in the docs.

Have the voltages I've been running through my components have done damage?

DutchMF