News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

DC jack on the bottom up or on the side of the enclosure?

Started by Gledison, November 05, 2013, 08:29:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hey!
somehow I always have the feeling that the DC jack should be at the bottom up of the enclosure. It seems that helps to organize the cables logistics on a pedalboard.
Well, I don't have a pedalborad yet and see loads of projects having the DC jack on the side of the enclosures. I know that sometimes is for better fitting reasons.
What is your preference? it makes real difference to organize the cables if is on the top?
cheers
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

croquet hoop

For me it does not makes much difference to organize the cables on the pedal board; it can make a big difference inside the pedal, though. So I decide on the jack location mainly depending on what will be more practical regarding internal wiring.

For instance, when you use a PCB with 9V/gnd pads on top of the PCB, having a DC jack on the top of the enclosure will avoid running wires across it. When you use a 3PDT breakout board, having the DC jack next to the footswitch may be more convenient.

Vallhagen

Topmounted jacks are definately preferred for pedal board/floor organizing reasons. Without doubt.

However, my standard procedure includes side-mounted jacks. Interior organization convenience is the main reason for that, but it sure is some kind of compromise.

Cheers
Yes i still have Blüe Monster pcb-s for sale!

...and checkout: https://moodysounds.se/

selfdestroyer