News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

DC jack wiring problems

Started by Gledison, June 20, 2013, 08:43:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

I will post some pictures a.s.a.p
I found something that might help you experts to solve the mistery.
I've got a old battery that is sending 6.5V. With this battery everything is working fine.
I decided to check with a new one and guess what? the same problem as i got with the adapter.
it seems that the problem is on the pcb than? :P
it seems to me that somehow is not accepting more than 7V, anything higher, it starts to crash!!!
maaaaaaan this thing is getting very interesting!!! :P
any diagnostic?
cheers
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

RobA

Well, that changes everything. Now you need to check all the standard stuff, voltages, solder bridges, component values, etc.

If it's got op amp gain stages, pay close attention to the parts in the feedback sections. Make sure they are the right values and that they are making contact with the PCB and there are no bridges on the pads.

Probing for audio and seeing where it starts to squeal would help too.
Affiliations: Music Unfolding (musicunfolding.com), software based effects and Rock•it Frog (rock.it-frog.com), DIY effects (coming soon).

Gledison

RobA, i have no audio probe (yet).
i've found the GGG tubescreamer IC voltage specs. Im using the tonepad layout but , here we go:

original voltage (from DC adapter=9,35V
Ic pins
1- 4,7 V (4,5V)  5- 4,7 (4,5V)
2- 4,9 V (4,5V)  6- 4,7 (4,5V)
3- 4,7 V (4,5V)  7- 4,7 (4,5V)
4- 0 V  (0V)       8- 9,35 (9 V)
on brackes are the GGG measurements
It seems to me that the IC is ok.
im using 2 transistors 2N3906 (on tonepad should be 2N3904)
my measurements are:
(in brackets are the measurement for the 2N4401)
Q1 e = 1,36V (2,5V)
     b= 8,72V (3V)
     c= 9,35V (9V)
The same values for Q2 were obtained.
it seems that my emmiters are sending less that it should and the base is quite high!