News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

J201's, fairchild, others, fakes etc....

Started by idgit, May 27, 2013, 11:06:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

idgit

so, seeing that I am new to all of this business, building pedals and all, I was wondering if anyone can explain the J201 thing to me..

I have  a number of builds that I am either doing or will hopefully do in the near future that require this Jfet.

I see that the Fairchild (preferred?) are no longer available but that there are a few other ones available, like the ones at Mammoth.

is there something I should be wary of?  I've read lots of things about fakes, what the hell is that? why would anyone fake a $0.40 piece?

is it something where the other rands will not stand up to the Fairchilds or is it ok to but whatever>

Confused

GrindCustoms

The J201 that you can source from Mammoth or Tayda are good to go.

If you plan on building an effect i.e. an OD with fixed Bias resistor for wich you have to pick through couple JFET to have the correct voltage at the Drain, my advice would be to buy 2-3x more than what you really need.

I don't see them as «fake», to me it's just the quality control that is different....a bit less consistency through out manufacturing.

Or another option wich is what i do, i buy them in lots on Ebay.
Killing Unicorns, day after day...

Building a better world brick by brick:https://rebrickable.com/users/GrindingBricks/mocs/

culturejam

Fairchild used to be the cheap brand.  :D
Partner and Product Developer at Function f(x).
My Personal Site with Effects Projects

midwayfair

Quote from: idgit on May 27, 2013, 11:06:12 PMwhy would anyone fake a $0.40 piece?

Because they can manufacture them for a penny.