News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Mudbunny: Filter cap

Started by henryadams, April 28, 2011, 03:43:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

henryadams

Ok, one more MB question (and thanks, all, for the help on my last one). I want to bump up the value of the caps that filter the 9V source to help decrease the noise of the pedal. I'm a bit of a newb at reading schems, but from what I can tell the filter cap is either C15 or C14 (or both?). Can anyone clear this up for me?

jkokura

I understand wanting to decrease noise, but since the power filter cap (C14) is already 100uF, there isn't going to be much improvement. You could increase it to 220uF if you'd like, and see what happens. I don't think there will be any difference in noise, but there won't be any difference in tone as far as I can see. Try and it and tell us what happens!

The reason I don't think the noise will decrease is because the noise isn't generated from the power to the circuit. It's generated, as fas as I can understand, it's generated in the gain stages of the transistors. It's an inherent problem that all Muffs have, regardless of transistor type, it's just because the transistors together create noise.

While I'm thinking about it, if you wanted to try increasing the output cap (C13) that might reduce some noise. Noise is sometimes introduced into a circuit, and your output cap's job is reduce the DC so that your signal is clean AC. 100nF *should* be enough, but you could try bumping this to 220, 330, 470, 680, 820, or even 1uF Film. If need be, you could even go up to 1-10uF Electrolytic. I'm not sure what this would do to the sound of the pedal, but you could try it and see, because if you want to reduce noise, this would be the best method I can think of.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

madbean