News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Pedal passes signal, but with no effect?????

Started by tascam, December 28, 2012, 09:56:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tascam

Hello! I am a beginner, obviously, and am having a dilemma that despite all my internet research (hours of looking up specifics on pots, caps, resistors, all the parts needed for my pedal) I am unable to solve.

My Problem:
This is my first pedal build, and I started off with the MANGLER. I've spent a lot of time learning how to read schematics, and about the parts, and i am fairly certain I have it hooked up properly on my breadboard. HOWEVER, It passes signal unaffected...  I have rebuilt it multiple times, all to no avail.

The only change modification from the schematic I have made is to get a 1kC pot as opposed to a 1kB pot (i read that the reverse taper on the 1kC works better).... Is this where I have made my mistake?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I am not even sure what to look for or ask in trying to solve this issue.

Thank you in advance!

hammerheadmusicman

I think this should be in the 'tech help' section, but anyways..

1) check your pinouts for your transistors, and make sure they are correctly orientated. I had a mudbunny which was passing almost clean signal.. All transistors were in backwards, as the pinout was backwards, swapped them, problem solved! That'll teach me to do this stuff late at night!!

2) check your orientation of your other components, diodes and electrolytics, and anything else polarised.

3) check your component values are correct

4)check for any solder bridges..

5) take some voltages readings, the 9v pad on the board ( checks the correct voltage is going into the circuit) and the legs of the transistors..

I'm sure it's something small..

Good luck!

George
I play Guitar, and Build Stuff..

tascam

Thanks, I'll give all your suggestions a try asap!