News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Bacon Bits schematic question

Started by Om_Audio, September 24, 2012, 09:36:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Om_Audio

Hi,
Can someone please explain IC2 and how it sits on its own with 2 connections going off down the rabbit hole to "4" and "8"? I tried to see if it meant pins 4 and 8 of IC1 looking at the board traces or if the numbers referenced points on the lower/main circuit but I'm a novice and don't know what the hell I am doing.
;D
Thanks,
Clifford

Sent via soup cans and string.

nzCdog

The 4 and 8 to nowhere are the power pins of IC1... 8 is V and 4 is G :)

Om_Audio

Damn I was sort of on the right track. I could see the traces on the layout but could not fully understand. Are the red traces all V? I can see IC2 pins 1 and 8 connecting to pin 8 of IC1, but pin 5 of IC2 goes to non-red trace to a hole, turns red, then goes to pin 4 of IC1. I am comparing the schem with the layout. I don't understand how to read the layout obviously. Like is the neg pole of C6 connected to pin 5 of IC2, and to a hole under D1 and onwards to pin 4 of IC1? I don't see any component using the hole below D1 so can only assume it is to connect maybe backside and frontside or ground plane? Errrr.....
:)
Shit man, now that I look at it, why not just have them resolve to the 9V and ground to the left, why have them hanging free like that? Why not show they connect to IC1 on the schem?
And damn, where is IC1 on the schem??
Does IC1 have 2 transistors in it thus the numbers on the 2 trannys in the schem?
Now I also see IC1A and IC1B by those 2 transistors... ok, getting warmer.
Thanks for the tip-
Eternally curious,
C

gtr2

Because that's how eagle does it.  On many schematics power and ground are not even shown on the IC's.

Josh
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

oldhousescott