News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Nooooob!!! (EgoDriver Parts?)

Started by poorman, September 22, 2012, 11:18:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

poorman

Hi all, first post from total noob here (let the hazing begin!!!).  I will have many dumb questions...so apologies in advance.

I'm definitely no expert with electronics.  More of a tinkerer with a soldering iron, but I have built 3 GGG pedals (2 successful, 1 bomb)

I own a V3 Fulltone OCD pedal which is my favorite OD I've ever heard.  I want another but I'd rather not shell out all that money so I was very excited to find the EgoDriver here.   Thank you, Madbean.

The GGG kits I have worked with come with all the parts.  So as I source parts for the EGO I'm encountering some issues.  Hence a long list of stupid noob questons will almost surely follow.

To start with...
1.  The bill of materials calls for (2) 25v 10uF radial electrolytic caps.  I can't find 25v anywhere...is 50v ok?
2.  Capacitors...what kind/type/brand and where is the best place to buy them?
3.  In staying true to the original OCD design I want to omit the LED clipping, do I simply omit the LEDs or is there more to it?
4.  Super noob question:  Are carbon film resistors and metal film resistor always tan and blue respectively?

And lastly...the biggie...

Is there a comprehensive "shopping list" for the EGO floating around anywhere?

Thanks!

murdog47