News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Quality carbon film resistors?

Started by claytushaywood, March 22, 2012, 01:23:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

claytushaywood

I've had some good experience using carbon film resistors lately.  I overhauled my old silverface pro reverb with a bunch of sprague 225's, silver micas, and PRP metal film resistors.  It sounded great, but it was a bit too "detailed" "edgy" "hi-fi" and bright.  I had some nice brand name "audiophile" carbon film resistors that i had ordered along with the prp's just in case.  I put these in the slope resistor position and the plate resistor position of v2 (vibrato channel) and man they made a huge difference.  Really brought the amp back to it's old warmth, but without the noise, and with more clarity and detail than when it was filled with carbon comps.  This amp fucking rocks now- so much better than it used to be and I havent even gotten my nice tube order in yet.

I've also had some great experience with my mxr dist + build, which sounded like crap until I replaced the 1uf films with tanatulums and all the signal path resistors with carbon film.  I also used some ceramics in place of box films.  The pedal is so much warmer now it's really ridiculous.  I'm thinking this treatment might be a good idea in more of my dirty pedals like fuzz and distortion.  The zen drive sounded pretty astounding using high quality stuff, I cant imagine any better out of it really, but I might just build another one for this theory testing.