News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

pedal board power supply

Started by DLM, March 19, 2012, 04:09:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DLM

noob question - pedal board power supply
Hey guys , has anyone built a pedal power supply using  R.G. Keen schematic ? http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/spyder/spyder.htm I'm a noob here and have 1 build under my belt ( serendipity ) and it actually worked great ! But now I need power supply for that one and my other pedals . My thought was to build a power supply with RG Keens schem . Those who are familiar with it , I'll be using the Weber VST transformer  WPDLXFMR-1 , 110 v primary to 8 x 11v @ 300 ma and 1 x9v @ 2ma .
On  the schematic for the transformer , It says :  8  regulated hum free 9v outputs all of which are fully ground- isolated . All can be used as either  +9v or - 9v  or stacked ( 2 secondaries together ) to provide +18v or-18v or +/- 9v with a center tap . Okay heres where I need help understanding . On the schem for the Rectifier/filter /regulator , To get the -9v ( for  neg center post  for like fuzz boxes etc ) Do I switch the neg and pos on the rectifier/filter / regulator wiring ?  And what is +/- 9v center tap mean ?  What I want to do is run some +9v jacks and some -9v jacks  . Any Help would be appreciated    

impetus maximus

110V? where do you live? here in the US we get 120V out of those holy thingies in the wall.  :P
running 110V trannys @ 120V will give you more than you need/want. *cough Fender reissues *cough

just a friendly heads up. good luck with your quest  :)

/max

impetus maximus

as long as your getting the voltages you desire and aren't overloading anything.  ;)
wish i could be more help.

i want pics when you start building this bad boy.

/max

Tpetty5

I think you would need to use a 7809 voltage regulator instead of a 78L09 for positive ground output.

plesur

No, for -9V regulation you would use 7909 or 79L09.

DLM