News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Newbie diagnosing 8-Ball

Started by pryonisys, April 22, 2015, 07:22:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pryonisys

Hey guys, this forum and the projects shown on it are great, lots of good help and ideas.
I'm very new to this and for some reason chose the Egghead and 8-Ball as my first two pedals to try, neither of them are working, but my real question is on the 8-Ball.
I made a test box to test out the pedal and hooked it up to test and I don't get any guitar signal through, I do however get something that kind of sounds like a pulsing heartbeat.
Probably one beat every minute or so.  Has anyone ever had this happen?  Thank you for any help with this.

selfdestroyer

First off, welcome to the forum. The 8-ball is a great circuit and it sounds like your one the right track by trying the pedal on a testing rig before you boxed it up. I do suggest you take a look at this post: http://www.madbeanpedals.com/forum/index.php?topic=902.0 and see if you can add a little more info about your problem so we can help you.

Does your test rig pass audio when the effect is bypassed?

Some of the first things I would do is to check and make sure all electrolytic capacitors have the correct orientation. Also use a digital multi meter if you have one to ensure you are getting 9v from your power source.

Cody

playpunk

If you have already wired up your test rig, I would suggest plugging your guitar into the input and the output into an amp, and then clipping the alligator clips for input and output together, and checking to make sure signal passes through the testing rig when no effect is in it.

After you do that, use a multimeter to make sure that you are getting +9v from your DC jack.

Don't ask me how I learned both of those little steps. Also, don't ask me how I got the soldering iron shaped scar above my left eyebrow.
"my legend grows" - playpunk

pryonisys