News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Sunking 2

Started by goldfixe, May 25, 2014, 06:58:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

goldfixe

So, this isn't my first Madbean build but it's my first build report.  In the past I've etched my own boards but I decided to buy this one because the wiring was pretty slick and I'm lazy.  For those of you with OCD tread lightly, it's not the cleanest build and some of the hardware doesn't line up.  I love the way this thing sounds!  For the clipping option I have the stock germaniums and then BAT41's.  The BAT's really up the gain and natural compression but there's a significant volume drop.  Still, it's worth it for the variety and there's enough headroom that it isn't a problem.  The Fat and Thick mods are very insignificant, almost unnoticeable.  I have Brian's recommended values for each (150n) but may experiment with other values in the future.  Like a dummy, I forgot to socket these.  Anyway, here we go!

The enclosure is scuffed a bit but that's what you get when you order a batch of blem boxes from Mammoth.

I mounted the toggles on the top of the enclosure because I didn't have any that would fit under the board.  Yes, I totally botched one of the holes so no I have to live with it.  It's not too bad and once it's on my board I won't be able to see it, so out of sight, out of mind.

I bought a fresnel lens on a whim from Small Bear and installed it.  I really like it a lot.

Not a super clean build but, for me, it's pretty dang good.  I'm happy with it.

I like the sound of this pedal so much I'm thinking of building a Kingslayer and having the two be the only OD's on my board. 

m-Kresol

I really like the switches on the top and the misdrilled hole is for ventilation/heatsink puroposes, right? :D
Good job, nice and clean
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs and tutorials

Leevibe