News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Pre-Amp for 5E3

Started by Bufferz, March 26, 2014, 09:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bufferz

Hey guys,

This is my first build report.....I want to take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone who is part of this amazing sub communty of audio electronics nerds like myself - special thanks to Austiz Ziltz @ Coldcraft for his help on the deluxe version. 

I have been working on this for the past 7 months (I even shed blood for this thing - look under foiotswitch  :P )and am really happy with how it has turned out - it is a preamp pedal that I have designed to be paired with my fender tweed deluxe - as you can see I am also working on vox and marshall versions: the basic concept being that the circuit is designed to be paired with the specific corresponding amp - all of the design features (high pass filter value at input, transitor types / gain, diode types / orientation, notch filters, and looks of course) have been customed tuned to serve the respective amp archetype. I'm looking forward to finishing the other versions as well, luckily I have a friend who owns a recording studio so I have access to many different amps for testing :)

I also have created a "deluxe" version which has additional features like active Treb/Bass/Mids, an effects loop, and a 12AU7 clean blend. This one is designed as more of a add-on to the amp than a stomp box per-say, so the mode switch near the jacks switches from just a buffered signal with a variable high pass filter which is there tailored to suit single coils and humbuckers respectivly and then the active mode which incoportates the Gain/EQ/and Tube stages.

affiliations: TFX

micromegas

hmmmm... all this seems interesting...

can't say anything about the sound of it and there's still not enough info to talk about the circuit design, but at least I can say those enclosures look georgeous
'My favorite programming language is solder' - Bob Pease