News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

SIP socket for germanium transistors

Started by Gledison, November 13, 2013, 09:09:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hey guys. had anyone tried to use the SIP sockets for Germanium trannies?
like snapping three of them and soldering together?
cheers
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

GermanCdn

Yeah, it works fine.  Snap off a set of three, cut the pin off the middle one, and a single at the point, solder them up and you're good to go.
The only known cure in the world for GAS is death.  That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Gledison

Quote from: GermanCdn on November 13, 2013, 09:58:49 PM
Yeah, it works fine.  Snap off a set of three, cut the pin off the middle one, and a single at the point, solder them up and you're good to go.
sorry, Curtis, didn't understand what u wrote...:S :-[
can I just solder one in each pad?
cheers

chromesphere

Depends how much plugging your going to be doing.  I've had those snap before.  The best and unfortunately most expensive socket I have found are the TO 16 sockets on mammoth.  I have one in a germanium transistor tester.  Imagine how many times I have used that sucker and its still holding legs firmly like day 1.  There just really dam expensive :(
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/TO-18-Package-Round-Transistor-Socket-p/620-to18.htm
Paul
Pedal Parts Shop              Youtube

GermanCdn

You can drop one into each pad, it won't make a functional difference.  The reason I do it in a one and three arrange is it's a lot easier to solder because leaving it in a bank of three (with the middle pin cut out) limits the planes to which the socket can be misaligned in, and gives the lone single point something to rest against when your soldering it in.

Chrome makes a good point, the TO-16 work a lot better, and I think Banzai sells them for like 0.24 Euro a piece.