News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Has anyone here done the blackface mods to their Fender? (And general amp work)

Started by lincolnic, October 24, 2013, 06:23:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lincolnic

A little while ago I posted a thread about my new amp, a 68 or 69 silverface Fender Pro Reverb. I bought it thinking that it was using the AA165 circuit (which would be blackface specs), but once I looked inside I saw that it was actually the AB668 circuit. I want to restore it to the blackface circuit, but I've never done any amp work before. The mods themselves don't seem that difficult, but I'm not quite sure how working point-to-point is mechanically different than working on a PCB. It seems like it might be easier to cut out a component and solder the new one to its existing leads, rather than to completely desolder and remove it intact, but I'm just speculating.

If anyone's done this before, I'd be curious to hear your experience. I'd also like to hear from any of you amp builders in general - what's the actual work like? What should I know beforehand? I already know how to properly discharge the filter caps, but what else?

Also, where do you buy caps and resistors of the proper values for this kind of thing? The usual pedal supplier suspects don't seem to carry resistors past 1/4 watt, and I'm not sure if Mouser has carbon comps anymore. Is it worth just buying a kit of everything from somewhere? (Like this: http://vintagefenderamprepair.com/mods-2/home/pro-reverb/) Or is that way overpriced?

I guess another important question would be: is it even worth doing this on my own? Is this a project that's better handled by an experienced tech? After around 30 pedals I feel confident that I can do the actual work properly, but amps are a new world for me. I'm ready to learn, but I also don't want to accidentally wreck a perfectly good amp.

jkokura