News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

AC125 Germanium transistors

Started by teknoman2, October 04, 2013, 03:50:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

teknoman2

I just bought from ebay 150 of ac125VI trannies,
I know that are very good for making fuzz but are they good for treble boosters?

ch1naski

I've got a few of those, and I've not tried them in a treble booster, but I think they would probably be OK, if you can find some with an HFE range between 70-100

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
one louder.

Gledison

Hey mate! How are the measurements? Like hfe and leakage? Ive got some AC125 that have huuuuge leakage! I think that from 10 , 2 were ok!
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

teknoman2

Some are ok some are leaky.
Don't throw away a transistor that is above 300μΑ.
What is the conditions of measurements?
Do you use a atlas dca?

Diamond

How bad is leakage REALLY? I keep reading the same numbers and links, but is there someone with in depth knowledge that ACTUALLY knows and can explain instead of just quoting the same old websites and just saying "anything above xxx is bad, period"?

Is there someone who actually measured the leakage in good sounding germanium fuzzes and compared them to transistors with lower or higher leakage?

Finally, I read somewhere, I believe it was on FSB, that some verion(s) of the Tonebender actually require some leakage to work. Is this true?

teknoman2

The frequency respone of transistor and the hfe difference is important not the leakage to my ears,
I believe on Q3 on mkIII you can put a leaky transistor.

twin1965

Just finished building a Maestro FZ-1. Tried several transistors and the best sounding ones were the leaky ones.

This type of circuit needs leaky transistors in the Q2 and Q3 positions.

I take the advice given on ge transistor leakage but I also use my ears to decide whether or not I like the sound of them in a particular circuit.