News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Positve and negative ground pedals

Started by Gledison, July 20, 2013, 01:56:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hi everyone!
I understood that one can't connect a positive supply pedal with a negative one using the same PS.
Can I connect a negative supplied pedal running on batteries to a pedal using a positive PS ? how do you guys combine these pedals?
I've read that Fuzz pedals sound better using a positive supply. I want to build soon a Rangemaster and the layout by madbean is with a positive supply. By tonepad one can build using a negative supply. any experience on how this difference will affect the sound?
thanks a lot!
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

davent

Build the Rangemaster with the positive ground, there are so many unexplained gremlins that plague what in theory should work with the positive to negative switch,  it's just not worth the trouble. That said, if you have a NPN germanium go ahead with the negative ground Rangemaster.

The other option is to use charge pump like the Road Rage to get you the -9v rail. To me it's just simpler and easier to run the positive ground pedals from a battery as the current draw is so low, battery life is extremely long.

dave
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown

If my photos are missing again... they're hosted by photobucket... and as of 06/2017 being held hostage... to be continued?

Gledison

Quote from: davent on July 20, 2013, 04:06:05 PM
Build the Rangemaster with the positive ground, there are so many unexplained gremlins that plague what in theory should work with the positive to negative switch,  it's just not worth the trouble. That said, if you have a NPN germanium go ahead with the negative ground Rangemaster.